Region
Companies in Ontario
VCMC tracks 44,459 companies based in Ontario. 593 of them have raised a venture or growth round, $29.90B in total, with a median round of $8.0M; 200 raised since 2024. 563 of the 593 have a VCMC valuation; the median is $46.4M.
44,459
companies tracked
593
venture-backed
1% of those tracked
$29.90B
raised in total
by 555 companies
$8.0M
median round
of 813 rounds with an amount
$46.4M
median valuation
of 563 companies valued
Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included.
By their latest round, most are at Seed (194 of 593).
- Pre-seed 43
- Seed 194
- Series A 155
- Series B 68
- Series C and later 130
- Stage not stated 3
The companies
Companies in Ontario
The 50 venture-backed companies below are this page's list; Recurrent Energy has raised the most ($2.52B).
| # | Last round | History | Range | Trend | Grade | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Recurrent Energy Solar Energy Company | Debt Aug 2026 $484M | $2.4B | $1.5B – $3.7B | $2.4B (+1%) | $231M | 45% | 838 | down | B | |
| 2 | Cohere Tech Companies | Growth Equity Sep 2025 $100M | $8.4B | $6.1B – $9.7B | $8.4B (0%) | $757M | 0% | 1,218 | growing | A | |
| 3 | Wealthsimple Investment Consultants & Financial Advisors | Growth Equity Oct 2025 $540M | $8.5B | $6.2B – $9.8B | $8.5B (0%) | $763M | 0% | 2,493 | growing | A | |
| 4 | Clearco Loans & Financing | Debt Aug 2026 $100M | $336M | $113M – $1.4B | $231M (-31%) | $101M | 84% | 143 | down | D | |
| 5 | Waabi Tech Companies | Series C Jan 2026 $750M | $6.8B | $4.0B – $10.5B | $7.4B (+9%) | $812M | 0% | 352 | growing | B | |
| 6 | 1Password Tech Companies | Series C Jan 2022 $620M | $9.7B | $1.4B – $14.7B | $9.5B (-2%) | $1.5B | 0% | 3,153 | up | D | |
| 7 | BioRender Tech Companies | Growth Equity Dec 2025 $900M | $9.7B | $6.6B – $14.0B | $8.6B (-12%) | $926M | 46% | 262 | up | B | |
| 8 | Solace Tech Companies | Growth Equity May 2026 $790M | $9.2B | $5.8B – $14.8B | $9.8B (+6%) | $878M | 0% | 733 | up | B | |
| 9 | Hydrostor Renewable energy companies | Growth Equity Aug 2026 $230M | $2.6B | $1.7B – $4.3B | $2.8B (+8%) | $254M | 0% | 137 | flat | B | |
| 10 | Green Infrastructure Partners Construction Services | Growth Equity Aug 2025 $564M | $3.5B | $2.7B – $4.0B | $3.5B (0%) | $316M | 0% | 1,798 | growing | A | |
| 11 | Hostaway Tech Companies | Growth Equity Dec 2024 $365M | $1.2B | $828M – $1.3B | $1.2B (0%) | $104M | 0% | 387 | growing | A | |
| 12 | Assent Tech Companies | Growth Equity Jan 2022 $350M | $955M | $85.1M – $1.2B | $955M (0%) | $99.0M | 0% | 1,060 | flat | D | |
| 13 | ApplyBoard Tech Companies | Debt Sep 2024 $74M | $1.4B | $331M – $5.7B | $1.3B (-8%) | $544M | 71% | 1,075 | down | D | |
| 14 | Vena Tech Companies | Series C Apr 2021 $300M | $2.2B | $167M – $4.3B | $2.1B (-4%) | $414M | 7% | 717 | flat | D | |
| 15 | Tech Companies | Private Equity Jan 2021 | $1.3B | $98.2M – $1.9B | $1.3B (0%) | $138M | 5% | 2,312 | flat | D | |
| 16 | Tech Companies | Series C Jan 2022 $150M | $1.0B | $76.2M – $2.7B | $954M (-7%) | $222M | 11% | 200 | flat | D | |
| 17 | Tech Companies | Growth Equity Mar 2019 $47M | $261M | $34.0M – $610M | $261M (0%) | $51.7M | 36% | 561 | flat | D | |
| 18 | Tech Companies | Series B Dec 2021 $50M | $27.8M | $12.8M – $74.7M | $27.7M (0%) | $30.0M | 97% | 31 | shrinking | C | |
| 19 | Tech Companies | Series B Feb 2022 $40M | $1.16M | $0 – $1.16M | $1.16M (0%) | – | 100% | 14 | down | dead | |
| 20 | Tech Companies | Series B Apr 2026 $25M | $224M | $120M – $418M | $275M (+23%) | $30.2M | 0% | 121 | up | C | |
| 21 | Tech Companies | Private Equity Jul 2021 $250M | $137M | $9.58M – $257M | $137M (0%) | $19.4M | 19% | 361 | flat | D | |
| 22 | Tech Companies | Series B Oct 2021 $24M | $159M | $9.86M – $325M | $150M (-5%) | $28.3M | 11% | 106 | flat | D | |
| 23 | Tech Companies | Growth Equity Oct 2016 $30M | $131M | $19.9M – $368M | $131M (0%) | $33.0M | 44% | 642 | flat | D | |
| 24 | Tech Companies | Growth Equity Nov 2016 $27M | $70.2M | $19.7M – $157M | $70.2M (0%) | $29.7M | 97% | 195 | shrinking | D | |
| 25 | Tech Companies | Growth Equity Feb 2025 $23M | $281M | $134M – $428M | $281M (0%) | $25.3M | 0% | 20 | up | B | |
| 26 | Tech Companies | Growth Equity Aug 2022 $20M | $211M | $24.0M – $379M | $204M (-3%) | $24.7M | 12% | 392 | flat | D | |
| 27 | Tech Companies | Series A Jan 2025 $12M | $110M | $44.1M – $174M | $97.7M (-11%) | $19.0M | 28% | 40 | up | C | |
| 28 | Tech Companies | Series A Dec 2022 $10M | $46.9M | $5.95M – $111M | $39.5M (-16%) | $13.0M | 30% | 34 | flat | D | |
| 29 | Tech Companies | Series A Jul 2024 $10M | $91.1M | $22.1M – $215M | $77.7M (-15%) | $16.7M | 66% | 207 | down | D | |
| 30 | Tech Companies | Series A Jun 2024 $11M | $98.8M | $21.0M – $189M | $84.1M (-15%) | $18.4M | 27% | 118 | flat | D | |
| 31 | Tech Companies | Series A Jan 2023 $7.4M | $34.5M | $6.47M – $107M | $28.4M (-18%) | $11.9M | 46% | 30 | up | D | |
| 32 | Tech Companies | Grant Apr 2019 | $42.9M | $3.64M – $115M | $42.2M (-2%) | $14.0M | 24% | 25 | up | D | |
| 33 | Tech Companies | Series A Jun 2019 $10M | $100M | $3.65M – $152M | $100M (0%) | $14.0M | 0% | 3 | unknown | D | |
| 34 | Tech Companies | Series A Mar 2021 $6.0M | $8.94M | $1.77M – $49.5M | $7.93M (-11%) | $6.83M | 71% | 12 | down | D | |
| 35 | Tech Companies | Series A Apr 2024 $5.6M | $55.8M | $12.7M – $81.8M | $48.5M (-13%) | $8.12M | 3% | 44 | up | C | |
| 36 | Tech Companies | Series A Jan 2020 $6.5M | $10.3M | $2.37M – $69.6M | $10.3M (0%) | $9.10M | 97% | 20 | down | D | |
| 37 | Tech Companies | Series A Jun 2022 $5.5M | $25.9M | $3.00M – $80.0M | $22.7M (-12%) | $9.12M | 40% | 28 | down | D | |
| 38 | Tech Companies | Other Sep 2021 $3.1M | $32.0M | $1.05M – $48.7M | $32.0M (0%) | $5.76M | 0% | 4 | unknown | D | |
| 39 | Tech Companies | Series A Oct 2023 $5.2M | $57.1M | $8.23M – $93.5M | $56.2M (-2%) | $8.60M | 0% | 49 | up | D | |
| 40 | Tech Companies | Seed Oct 2025 $4.1M | $52.2M | $18.4M – $74.0M | $52.2M (0%) | $9.39M | 0% | 18 | growing | C | |
| 41 | Credit Unions & Savings Institutions | Seed May 2022 $5.0M | $0.24M | $0 – $0.24M | $0.24M (0%) | – | 100% | 18 | up | dead | |
| 42 | Tech Companies | Seed Aug 2026 $4.0M | $31.5M | $17.7M – $82.2M | $54.0M (+72%) | $9.72M | 0% | 20 | growing | C | |
| 43 | Tech Companies | Seed Mar 2022 $4.0M | $31.8M | $7.78M – $76.0M | $31.1M (-2%) | $10.2M | 26% | 48 | growing | D | |
| 44 | Tech Companies | Seed May 2021 $1.2M | $19.0M | $1.05M – $28.9M | $18.6M (-2%) | $3.65M | 0% | 42 | up | D | |
| 45 | Tech Companies | Seed Aug 2021 $2.2M | $21.0M | $0.81M – $39.9M | $20.3M (-3%) | $4.44M | 12% | 40 | flat | D | |
| 46 | Tech Companies | Seed Oct 2015 $2.2M | $17.6M | $0.58M – $26.8M | $17.6M (0%) | $3.17M | 0% | 5 | unknown | D | |
| 47 | Tech Companies | Pre-Seed May 2024 $1.6M | $30.3M | $9.17M – $46.1M | $30.3M (0%) | $5.45M | 0% | 43 | growing | C | |
| 48 | Tech Companies | Seed Jun 2020 $1.1M | $2.97M | $0.48M – $18.4M | $2.88M (-3%) | $2.64M | 70% | 11 | flat | D | |
| 49 | TROES Batteries | Seed Mar 2021 $1.0M | $5.25M | $0.41M – $22.9M | $5.37M (+2%) | $2.23M | 59% | 23 | down | D | |
| 50 | Tech Companies | Seed Sep 2023 $1.0M | $4.21M | $0.63M – $9.45M | $3.81M (-9%) | $1.34M | 30% | 1 | unknown | D |
Showing 50 of 44,459. Load more lists every other company here, 50 at a time.
Valuations
How these companies are valued
563 of the 593 venture-backed companies here have a VCMC valuation; the median is $46.4M. A company acquired after its last round keeps its last value as a private company and is left out of the median. 35 companies have disclosed a valuation; for the rest VCMC's valuation is the only number. Each valuation comes with a range, from a low to a high scenario, and a prediction for a year from now. Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included. How VCMC values companies.
Investors
Who backs them
Firms that backed two or more of these companies. MaRS IAF backed 36, BDC Capital 33.
- 36 companies, led 1
- BDC Capital 33 companies, led 5
- 31 companies, led 1
- Inovia 30 companies, led 9
- 27 companies, led 5
- Export Development Canada 22 companies
- Y Combinator 18 companies, led 3
- 18 companies, led 1
- 17 companies, led 4
- 15 companies, led 11
- 15 companies, led 7
- 14 companies, led 3
Recent rounds
Latest funding
63 rounds from Oct 2025 to Sep 2026, $4.57B with a disclosed amount.
- Seed, with Whitecap Venture Partners and Mistral Venture Partners $3.9M 23 Sep 2026
- Growth, with Hamilton Lane $105M 17 Sep 2026
- Seed, led by UpHonest Capital $2.3M 15 Sep 2026
- Bridge, with Onconetix, Inc. $2.5M 14 Sep 2026
- Growth, led by T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. $75M 27 Aug 2026
- Recurrent Energy Growth, with Wells Fargo $211M 13 Aug 2026
- Hydrostor Growth, with Canada Growth Fund and Goldman Sachs Alternatives $230M 12 Aug 2026
- Seed, with BDC Seed Venture Fund and Orion Resource Partners $4.0M 4 Aug 2026
- Growth, with CAI Capital Partners amount not disclosed 31 Jul 2026
- Growth, led by H.I.G. Growth Partners amount not disclosed 30 Jul 2026
- Series A, led by Battery Ventures $20M 29 Jul 2026
- Series A, with OT Investors LLC and FreshPet $11M 21 Jul 2026
Browse
Related groups
Other regions in Canada
Questions
Frequently asked
How many companies in Ontario does VCMC track?
44,459. 593 of them have raised a venture or growth round.
How much have companies in Ontario raised?
$29.90B in total across the 555 with a known amount; the median round is $8.0M. 200 raised a round since 2024.
Which companies in Ontario have raised the most?
Recurrent Energy ($2.52B), Cohere ($1.21B), Wealthsimple ($1.19B).
Which investors back companies in Ontario most often?
MaRS IAF (36 companies), BDC Capital (33 companies), Garage Capital (31 companies).
What are companies in Ontario worth?
The median VCMC valuation is $46.4M across 563 companies; companies acquired after their last round are left out. Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included.
What was the latest funding round?
THRI5 raised a Seed round of $3.9M (Sep 2026), with Whitecap Venture Partners and Mistral Venture Partners.