Industry by country
Tech companies in Canada
VCMC tracks 15,830 companies in Tech Companies based in Canada. 617 of them have raised a venture or growth round, $25.71B in total, with a median round of $6.2M; 203 raised since 2024. 592 of the 617 have a VCMC valuation; the median is $35.7M.
15,830
companies tracked
617
venture-backed
4% of those tracked
$25.71B
raised in total
by 580 companies
$6.2M
median round
of 846 rounds with an amount
$35.7M
median valuation
of 592 companies valued
Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included.
By their latest round, most are at Seed (245 of 617).
- Pre-seed 36
- Seed 245
- Series A 149
- Series B 69
- Series C and later 116
- Stage not stated 2
The companies
Tech companies in Canada
The 50 venture-backed companies below are this page's list; Clio has raised the most ($2.14B).
| # | Last round | History | Range | Trend | Grade | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Clio Burnaby | Series G Nov 2025 $500M | $7.1B | $4.3B – $8.3B | $7.3B (+2%) | $798M | 0% | 2,750 | growing | B | |
| 2 | Cohere Toronto | Growth Equity Sep 2025 $100M | $8.4B | $6.1B – $9.7B | $8.4B (0%) | $757M | 0% | 1,218 | growing | A | |
| 3 | Waabi Toronto | Series C Jan 2026 $750M | $6.8B | $4.0B – $10.5B | $7.4B (+9%) | $812M | 0% | 352 | growing | B | |
| 4 | 1Password Toronto | Series C Jan 2022 $620M | $9.7B | $1.4B – $14.7B | $9.5B (-2%) | $1.5B | 0% | 3,153 | up | D | |
| 5 | BioRender Toronto | Growth Equity Dec 2025 $900M | $9.7B | $6.6B – $14.0B | $8.6B (-12%) | $926M | 46% | 262 | up | B | |
| 6 | Solace Ottawa | Growth Equity May 2026 $790M | $9.2B | $5.8B – $14.8B | $9.8B (+6%) | $878M | 0% | 733 | up | B | |
| 7 | Dapper Labs Vancouver | Growth Equity Sep 2021 $250M | $4.9B | $661M – $9.2B | $4.6B (-7%) | $752M | 30% | 190 | unknown | D | |
| 8 | Hostaway Toronto | Growth Equity Dec 2024 $365M | $1.2B | $828M – $1.3B | $1.2B (0%) | $104M | 0% | 387 | growing | A | |
| 9 | Assent Ottawa | Growth Equity Jan 2022 $350M | $955M | $85.1M – $1.2B | $955M (0%) | $99.0M | 0% | 1,060 | flat | D | |
| 10 | Jane North Vancouver | Growth Equity May 2025 $500M | $2.1B | $1.4B – $2.4B | $2.1B (0%) | $188M | 0% | 795 | up | A | |
| 11 | ApplyBoard Kitchener | Debt Sep 2024 $74M | $1.4B | $331M – $5.7B | $1.3B (-8%) | $544M | 71% | 1,075 | down | D | |
| 12 | Trulioo Vancouver | Series D Jun 2021 $394M | $1.1B | $152M – $2.7B | $976M (-7%) | $299M | 34% | 384 | flat | D | |
| 13 | Vena Toronto | Series C Apr 2021 $300M | $2.2B | $167M – $4.3B | $2.1B (-4%) | $414M | 7% | 717 | flat | D | |
| 14 | Acquisition Nov 2020 $2.75B | $4.7B acquired 2020 | $2.6B – $7.2B | – | – | 0% | – | unknown | B | ||
| 15 | AlayaCare | Series D May 2024 $165M | $2.6B | $624M – $3.8B | $2.0B (-23%) | $297M | 8% | 630 | flat | C | |
| 16 | Saskatoon | Other Oct 2023 $15M | $773M | $55.2M – $1.4B | $771M (0%) | $101M | 1% | 738 | flat | D | |
| 17 | Growth Equity Jul 2026 $35M | $400M | $256M – $651M | $428M (+7%) | $38.5M | 0% | 49 | growing | B | ||
| 18 | Saskatoon | Series C Nov 2024 $80M | $943M | $292M – $1.4B | $941M (0%) | $104M | 1% | 325 | flat | C | |
| 19 | Series C Nov 2025 $72M | $718M | $435M – $841M | $731M (+2%) | $80.5M | 0% | 272 | growing | B | ||
| 20 | Winnipeg | Series B Jun 2025 $80M | $803M | $369M – $1.1B | $803M (0%) | $88.3M | 0% | 201 | up | B | |
| 21 | Winnipeg | Series B Jan 2021 $27M | $47.7M | $13.3M – $302M | $46.4M (-3%) | $31.0M | 97% | 95 | down | D | |
| 22 | Winnipeg | Other Feb 2026 $13M | $122M | $47.5M – $185M | $122M (0%) | $17.0M | 0% | 131 | growing | C | |
| 23 | Fredericton | Debt Jun 2018 $15M | $23.5M | $0.94M – $76.2M | $23.5M (0%) | $4.78M | 41% | 214 | flat | D | |
| 24 | Saskatoon | Series B Sep 2013 $14M | $101M | $5.25M – $177M | $101M (0%) | $12.3M | 15% | 70 | flat | D | |
| 25 | Steinbach | Series B Jan 2023 $15M | $66.7M | $13.4M – $227M | $47.9M (-28%) | $18.2M | 56% | 61 | flat | D | |
| 26 | BoostSecurity Montreal | Other May 2026 $4.0M | $62.3M | $5.30M – $135M | $55.5M (-11%) | $19.5M | 17% | 30 | flat | D | |
| 27 | Other Jan 2024 $6.0M | $12.0M | $1.13M – $41.3M | $12.0M (0%) | $6.17M | 46% | – | unknown | D | ||
| 28 | Saskatoon | Series B Feb 2023 $9.1M | $45.0M | $9.25M – $153M | $32.2M (-28%) | $12.2M | 57% | 53 | flat | D | |
| 29 | Fluent.ai Montreal | Seed Mar 2024 $7.5M | $43.1M | $7.80M – $81.6M | $37.8M (-12%) | $11.4M | 28% | 1 | unknown | D | |
| 30 | Saint John | Seed Apr 2024 $5.8M | $14.0M | $7.96M – $26.0M | $10.7M (-24%) | $10.4M | 97% | 9 | shrinking | B | |
| 31 | Seed Sep 2024 $8.0M | $53.8M | $17.9M – $112M | $36.6M (-32%) | $19.2M | 59% | 12 | flat | C | ||
| 32 | Seed Mar 2026 $7.0M | $73.0M | $32.2M – $149M | $98.0M (+34%) | $17.6M | 0% | 20 | up | C | ||
| 33 | Saskatoon | Seed Oct 2022 $5.0M | $22.5M | $2.14M – $74.3M | $20.4M (-10%) | $10.0M | 30% | 2 | unknown | D | |
| 34 | Fredericton | Other Jun 2026 $2.1M | $12.8M | $6.50M – $30.1M | $19.8M (+55%) | $3.56M | 0% | 16 | up | C | |
| 35 | Fredericton | Series A Mar 2022 $4.7M | $8.59M | $1.88M – $69.6M | $8.18M (-5%) | $6.36M | 97% | 24 | down | D | |
| 36 | Saskatoon | Series A Sep 2022 $4.3M | $46.4M | $3.87M – $75.7M | $45.2M (-2%) | $6.43M | 5% | 85 | up | D | |
| 37 | Seed Nov 2024 $2.3M | $15.8M | $5.87M – $32.7M | $11.5M (-27%) | $5.29M | 62% | 16 | flat | C | ||
| 38 | Seed May 2023 $3.3M | $13.2M | $4.24M – $58.3M | $11.1M (-16%) | $10.3M | 97% | 26 | down | D | ||
| 39 | Moncton | Series A Feb 2015 $3.0M | $15.6M | $1.03M – $25.4M | $15.6M (0%) | $4.20M | 0% | 14 | flat | D | |
| 40 | Fredericton | Seed Oct 2022 $2.2M | $18.9M | $1.02M – $37.2M | $18.9M (0%) | $4.40M | 0% | 2 | unknown | D | |
| 41 | Seed Feb 2023 $2.0M | $14.8M | $2.33M – $57.3M | $12.8M (-14%) | $6.48M | 80% | 51 | flat | D | ||
| 42 | Seed May 2017 $2.0M | $19.6M | $1.01M – $29.8M | $18.9M (-3%) | $2.88M | 0% | 59 | up | D | ||
| 43 | Saint John | Seed Feb 2025 $1.9M | $28.1M | $9.56M – $42.7M | $28.1M (0%) | $5.05M | 0% | 9 | growing | C | |
| 44 | Charlottetown | Seed Dec 2025 $1.3M | $15.5M | $5.98M – $24.1M | $17.0M (+9%) | $3.06M | 0% | 16 | growing | C | |
| 45 | Moncton | Seed Feb 2021 $1.8M | $12.7M | $0.85M – $29.4M | $12.3M (-3%) | $4.73M | 23% | 31 | flat | D | |
| 46 | Fredericton | Seed Oct 2018 $1.5M | $20.0M | $0.66M – $32.4M | $19.3M (-4%) | $3.60M | 3% | 49 | flat | D | |
| 47 | Hanwell | Seed May 2024 $1.5M | $5.72M | $1.80M – $13.7M | $4.75M (-17%) | $2.39M | 64% | 3 | unknown | D | |
| 48 | Winnipeg | Seed Apr 2025 $1.4M | $18.2M | $4.35M – $27.7M | $18.2M (0%) | $3.27M | 0% | 7 | unknown | C | |
| 49 | Winnipeg | Seed Dec 2025 $1.4M | $18.0M | $6.47M – $30.0M | $19.7M (+9%) | $3.55M | 0% | 27 | growing | C | |
| 50 | Saskatoon | Seed Aug 2019 $1.0M | $5.11M | $0.44M – $38.0M | $5.05M (-1%) | $2.40M | 79% | 21 | flat | D |
Showing 50 of 15,830. Load more lists every other company here, 50 at a time.
Valuations
How these companies are valued
592 of the 617 venture-backed companies here have a VCMC valuation; the median is $35.7M. A company acquired after its last round keeps its last value as a private company and is left out of the median. 30 companies have disclosed a valuation; for the rest VCMC's valuation is the only number. Each valuation comes with a range, from a low to a high scenario, and a prediction for a year from now. Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included. How VCMC values companies.
Investors
Who backs them
Firms that backed two or more of these companies. Inovia backed 37, BDC Capital 34.
- Inovia 37 companies, led 21
- BDC Capital 34 companies, led 6
- 25 companies, led 1
- Export Development Canada 24 companies, led 1
- Y Combinator 23 companies, led 4
- 19 companies, led 4
- 19 companies, led 1
- 18 companies, led 4
- 18 companies, led 4
- 18 companies, led 3
- 18 companies, led 2
- 17 companies, led 11
Recent rounds
Latest funding
62 rounds from Oct 2025 to Sep 2026, $4.23B with a disclosed amount.
- Series A, led by McRock Capital $12M 24 Sep 2026
- Seed, with Whitecap Venture Partners and Mistral Venture Partners $3.9M 23 Sep 2026
- Seed, led by UpHonest Capital $2.3M 15 Sep 2026
- Series D, led by Planet First Partners $131M 23 Aug 2026
- Seed, with BDC Seed Venture Fund and Orion Resource Partners $4.0M 4 Aug 2026
- Growth, led by H.I.G. Growth Partners amount not disclosed 30 Jul 2026
- Series A, led by Battery Ventures $20M 29 Jul 2026
- Growth, led by Riverwood Capital $65M 21 Jul 2026
- Pre-seed, led by Inovia $1.9M 7 Jul 2026
- Growth, led by TD Securities Inc. and RBC Capital Markets $35M 7 Jul 2026
- Series A, led by Georgian $98M 30 Jun 2026
- Seed, led by Tall Grass Ventures $1.5M 15 Jun 2026
Browse
Related groups
Tech Companies in other countries
Other industries in Canada
Questions
Frequently asked
How many tech companies in Canada does VCMC track?
15,830. 617 of them have raised a venture or growth round.
How much have tech companies in Canada raised?
$25.71B in total across the 580 with a known amount; the median round is $6.2M. 203 raised a round since 2024.
Which tech companies in Canada have raised the most?
Clio ($2.14B), Cohere ($1.21B), Waabi ($1.03B).
Which investors back tech companies in Canada most often?
Inovia (37 companies), BDC Capital (34 companies), MaRS IAF (25 companies).
What are tech companies in Canada worth?
The median VCMC valuation is $35.7M across 592 companies; companies acquired after their last round are left out. Values cover private companies only; public companies are not included.
What was the latest funding round?
Axya raised a Series A round of $12M (Sep 2026), led by McRock Capital.