VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

Cityblock Health Series C

Cityblock Health, which works in primary care services in New York, raised $160M in a Series C round announced on 10 Dec 2020, led by General Catalyst, at a $1.00B post-money valuation. 10 firms took part, 5 of them already investors. It is Cityblock Health's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series B in Apr 2019.

$160M

Amount raised

$1.00B

Post-money valuation

$840M pre-money

10

Investors

1 lead

16%

Stake sold

new money over the post-money

Valuation

What this round says about the price

This round priced Cityblock Health at $1.00B after the new money. The $160M bought investors about 16% of the company. It came 20 months after Cityblock Health's Series B. It is 21% of the $762M Cityblock Health has raised in the venture rounds on record. Cityblock Health raised again 8 months later: a Series D round of $400M in Aug 2021, at $5.70B post-money.

Cityblock Health's funding rounds

Cityblock Health has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.

  1. Series A 4 Jan 2018, led by Maverick Ventures $21M
  2. Series B 15 Apr 2019, led by Redpoint Ventures $65M
  3. Series C this round 10 Dec 2020, led by General Catalyst $160M$1.00B post-money
  4. Series D 3 Aug 2021, led by SoftBank $400M$5.70B post-money
  5. Series E 20 Aug 2026, led by General Catalyst $116M

Investors

Who put money in

General Catalyst led the round with 9 other firms. General Catalyst, Kinnevik, Maverick Ventures and Thrive Capital and 1 more had backed Cityblock Health before.

Lead investor

Also in the round

  • Wellington Management new investor
  • Kinnevik backs 55 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Maverick Ventures existing investor
  • Thrive Capital backs 130 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Redpoint Ventures backs 194 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • 8VC new investor
  • backs 25 venture-backed companies new investor
  • EmblemHealth new investor
  • Goldman Sachs AIMS Impact new investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, scaling operations and working capital.

  • Hiring
  • Product development
  • Geographic expansion
  • Scaling operations
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

19 Series C rounds in Health Care Services within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $60M, and this round was 2.7 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series C rounds in Health Care Services:

Series C rounds in Health Care Services, Dec 2019 to Dec 2021: 19 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Carbon Health Health Care Services10 Nov 2020$100Mnot disclosedDragoneer Investment Group
Health Care Services10 Nov 2020$38M$200MThe Cigna Group Ventures and Humana
Health Care Services12 Nov 2020undisclosednot disclosednot named
Health Care Services18 Feb 2021$60Mnot disclosedInsight Partners
Health Care Services8 Oct 2020$55Mnot disclosedKing River
Health Care Services23 Feb 2021$50M$396Mnot named
Health Care Services30 Mar 2021$100M$1.10BKhosla Ventures
Health Care Services30 Mar 2021$40Mnot disclosedTransformation Capital

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 6 sources.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did Cityblock Health raise in its Series C round?

Cityblock Health raised $160M in its Series C round, announced in Dec 2020.

Who led Cityblock Health's Series C round?

General Catalyst led it, with Wellington Management, Kinnevik, Maverick Ventures, Thrive Capital and Redpoint Ventures and 4 more.

What was Cityblock Health's valuation at the Series C round?

$1.00B post-money ($840M pre-money).

How does it compare with other Series C rounds in Health Care Services?

19 Series C rounds in Health Care Services within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $60M, and this round was 2.7 times the median.

Did Cityblock Health raise again after this round?

Yes: a Series D round in Aug 2021 of $400M at $5.70B post-money.