Funding round

Goat Group Series C
Goat Group, which works in sneakers, apparel, and accessories retail in Los Angeles, raised $60M in a Series C round announced on 8 Feb 2018, led by Index Ventures. 5 firms took part. It is Goat Group's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series B in Feb 2017.
$60M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
5
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Goat Group did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 12 months after Goat Group's Series B. It is 12% of the $482M Goat Group has raised in the venture rounds on record. Goat Group raised again 12 months later: a Growth round of $100M in Feb 2019, at $550M post-money.
Goat Group's funding rounds
Goat Group has 6 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.
- Seed 6 May 2011 $1.6M
- Series B 7 Feb 2017, led by Accel $25M
- Series C this round 8 Feb 2018, led by Index Ventures $60M
- Growth 7 Feb 2019, led by Foot Locker, Inc. $100M$550M post-money
- Series E 23 Sep 2020, led by D1 Capital Partners $100M$1.75B post-money
- Series F 24 Jun 2021, led by Park West Asset Management $195M$3.70B post-money
Investors
Who put money in
Index Ventures led the round with 4 other firms.
Lead investor
- Index Ventures backs 353 venture-backed companies new investor
Also in the round
- Accel backs 581 venture-backed companies new investor
- Matrix new investor
- backs 88 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 45 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to product development.
- Product development
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: 1 in Shoes & Other Footwear Stores, then Series C rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shoes & Other Footwear Stores | 20 Jun 2017 | $16M | not disclosed | Burda Principal Investments |
| Batteries | 1 Feb 2018 | $159M | $1.00B | IDG Capital |
| Office Spaces | 27 Feb 2018 | $80M | not disclosed | Riverwood Capital and Fifth Wall |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 12 Feb 2018 | $71M | not disclosed | Premji Invest |
| Tech Companies | 15 Feb 2018 | $60M | not disclosed | TPG |
| Biotechnology | 28 Feb 2018 | $56M | not disclosed | Mérieux Développement and Paladin Capital Group |
| Cosmetics Stores | 22 Feb 2018 | $52M | not disclosed | Institutional Venture Partners and Index Ventures |
| Learning, Tutoring & Courses | 14 Feb 2018 | $50M | not disclosed | Learn Capital |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 1 source.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Goat Group raise in its Series C round?
Goat Group raised $60M in its Series C round, announced in Feb 2018.
Who led Goat Group's Series C round?
Index Ventures led it, with Accel, Matrix, Upfront Ventures and Webb Investment Network.
What was Goat Group's valuation at the Series C round?
It was not disclosed.
Did Goat Group raise again after this round?
Yes: a Growth round in Feb 2019 of $100M at $550M post-money.