Funding round

Gojo Series D
Gojo, which works in microfinance services in Tokyo, raised $68M in a Series D round announced on 17 Dec 2020. 6 firms took part, 3 of them already investors. It is Gojo's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series C in Sep 2019.
$68M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
6
Investors
no lead named
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Gojo did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 15 months after Gojo's Series C. It is 23% of the $297M Gojo has raised in the venture rounds on record. Gojo raised again 23 months later: a Series E round of $50M in Nov 2022.
Gojo's funding rounds
Gojo has 5 venture rounds on record and 4 other deals. This one is highlighted.
- Series B 29 Jun 2018 $17M
- Series C 30 Sep 2019, led by Dai-ichi Life Insurance Co., Ltd. $40M
- Series D this round 17 Dec 2020 $68M
- Debt not a venture round 22 Feb 2022 $1.7M
- Debt not a venture round 28 Jun 2022 $11M
- Series E 15 Nov 2022 $50M
- Debt not a venture round 16 Aug 2023 $55M
- Debt not a venture round 24 Oct 2024 $111M
- Series F 24 Oct 2024 $122M
Investors
Who put money in
6 firms took part; no lead investor was named.
Investors
- The Dai-ichi Life Insurance Company, Limited existing investor
- MARUI GROUP Co. existing investor
- ASTMAX Fund Management Co., Ltd. existing investor
- RICOH LEASING COMPANY, LTD. new investor
- backs 18 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 32 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to product development, geographic expansion, scaling operations and working capital.
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
10 Series D rounds in Loans & Financing within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $76M, and this round was close to the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series D rounds in Loans & Financing:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loans & Financing | 17 Dec 2020 | $27M | not disclosed | Legal & General and Experian |
| Loans & Financing | 18 Nov 2020 | $28M | not disclosed | SoftBank Ventures Asia and Daesung Private Equity |
| Sunbit Loans & Financing | 20 May 2021 | $130M | $1.10B | Group 11 |
| Loans & Financing | 1 Jun 2021 | $165M | not disclosed | not named |
| Upgrade Loans & Financing | 17 Jun 2020 | $40M | $1.00B | Mouro Capital |
| Octane Loans & Financing | 5 Aug 2021 | $52M | $900M | Progressive Investment Company, Inc. and Valar Ventures |
| Loans & Financing | 22 Sep 2021 | $400M | $2.00B | SoftBank Vision Fund and Warburg Pincus |
| Fundbox Loans & Financing | 30 Nov 2021 | $100M | $1.10B | Healthcare of Ontario Pension Plan (HOOPP) |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 4 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Gojo raise in its Series D round?
Gojo raised $68M in its Series D round, announced in Dec 2020.
Which investors took part in Gojo's Series D round?
The Dai-ichi Life Insurance Company, Limited, MARUI GROUP Co., ASTMAX Fund Management Co., Ltd., RICOH LEASING COMPANY, LTD., Beyond Next Ventures and GMO VenturePartners.
What was Gojo's valuation at the Series D round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series D rounds in Loans & Financing?
10 Series D rounds in Loans & Financing within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $76M, and this round was close to the median.
Did Gojo raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series E round in Nov 2022 of $50M.