Funding round

Impossible Foods Series D
Impossible Foods, which works in plant-based meat alternative manufacturing in Ashburn, raised $108M in a Series D round announced on 6 Oct 2015, led by UBS. 4 firms took part, with 1 individual investor. It is Impossible Foods' second venture round on record; the one before was a Series C in Jun 2014.
$108M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
4
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Impossible Foods did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 16 months after Impossible Foods' Series C. It is 6.6% of the $1.65B Impossible Foods has raised in the venture rounds on record. Impossible Foods raised again 43 months later: a Series E round of $300M in May 2019. Its next priced round, a Series G in Aug 2020, valued it at $3.60B.
Impossible Foods' funding rounds
Impossible Foods has 6 venture rounds on record and 1 other deal. This one is highlighted.
- Series C 27 Jun 2014 $40M
- Series D this round 6 Oct 2015, led by UBS $108M
- Debt not a venture round 3 Apr 2018, led by Temasek and Sailing Capital $114M
- Series E 14 May 2019, led by Temasek and Horizons Ventures $300M
- Series F 15 Mar 2020, led by Mirae Asset Global Investments $500M
- Series G 13 Aug 2020, led by Coatue $200M$3.60B post-money
- Growth 22 Nov 2021, led by Mirae Asset Global Investments $500M$7.00B post-money
Investors
Who put money in
UBS led the round with 3 other firms.
Lead investor
- UBS new investor
Also in the round
- backs 54 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 97 venture-backed companies new investor
- Khosla Ventures backs 396 venture-backed companies new investor
Individual investors: Bill Gates.
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to product development.
- Product development
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: Series D rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional & Management Training | 11 Nov 2015 | $105M | $1.00B | Bertelsmann Investments |
| Netskope Tech Companies | 3 Sep 2015 | $75M | not disclosed | Iconiq Capital |
| General Assembly Computer Training Schools | 30 Sep 2015 | $70M | not disclosed | Advance Publications and Wellington Capital Management LLP |
| Tech Companies | 12 Nov 2015 | $50M | not disclosed | Insight Partners |
| Snack Foods | 17 Sep 2015 | $47M | not disclosed | FreeS Fund |
| Electronical Components Manufacturing | 14 Sep 2015 | $35M | not disclosed | Tyche Partners |
| Tech Companies | 10 Nov 2015 | $32M | not disclosed | JMI Equity |
| Batteries | 9 Sep 2015 | $25M | not disclosed | I2BF Global Ventures and Russia-Kazakhstan Nanotechnology Fund |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 4 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Impossible Foods raise in its Series D round?
Impossible Foods raised $108M in its Series D round, announced in Oct 2015.
Who led Impossible Foods' Series D round?
UBS led it, with Viking Global, Horizons Ventures and Khosla Ventures.
What was Impossible Foods' valuation at the Series D round?
It was not disclosed.
Did Impossible Foods raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series E round in May 2019 of $300M.