Funding round

LeafLink Series B
LeafLink, which works in cannabis commerce platform development in Denver, raised $35M in a Series B round announced on 7 Aug 2019, led by Thrive Capital. 6 firms took part. It is LeafLink's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series A in Nov 2017.
$35M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
6
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
LeafLink did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 21 months after LeafLink's Series A. It is 19% of the $188M LeafLink has raised in the venture rounds on record. LeafLink raised again 16 months later: a Series C round of $40M in Dec 2020, at $376M post-money.
LeafLink's funding rounds
LeafLink has 5 venture rounds on record and 1 other deal. This one is highlighted.
- Seed 3 Apr 2017, led by Lerer Hippeau $3.0M
- Series A 20 Nov 2017, led by Nosara Capital $10M
- Series B this round 7 Aug 2019, led by Thrive Capital $35M
- Debt not a venture round 22 Jul 2020 $250M
- Series C 10 Dec 2020, led by Founders Fund $40M$376M post-money
- Series D 1 Feb 2023, led by CPMG, L2V and Nosara Capital $100M$500M post-money
Investors
Who put money in
Thrive Capital led the round with 5 other firms.
Lead investor
- Thrive Capital backs 130 venture-backed companies new investor
Also in the round
- backs 7 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 153 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 2 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 12 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 7 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: 1 in Decorators & Interior Designers, then Series B rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Decorators & Interior Designers | 12 Mar 2020 | $125M | not disclosed | not named |
| Clearco Loans & Financing | 9 Aug 2019 | $300M | not disclosed | Highland Capital |
| CRED Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 26 Aug 2019 | $120M | $450M | Sequoia Capital and Ribbit |
| Warehousing & Storage | 1 Aug 2019 | $100M | not disclosed | not named |
| Financial Services | 29 Aug 2019 | $50M | not disclosed | Founders Fund |
| Electronics Stores | 22 Aug 2019 | $44M | not disclosed | HOF Capital |
| Tech Companies | 13 Aug 2019 | $40M | not disclosed | Sutter Hill Ventures |
| Attentive Tech Companies | 12 Aug 2019 | $40M | not disclosed | Sequoia Capital |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 1 source.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did LeafLink raise in its Series B round?
LeafLink raised $35M in its Series B round, announced in Aug 2019.
Who led LeafLink's Series B round?
Thrive Capital led it, with Nosara Capital, Lerer Hippeau, Wisdom, TIA Ventures and L2V.
What was LeafLink's valuation at the Series B round?
It was not disclosed.
Did LeafLink raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series C round in Dec 2020 of $40M at $376M post-money.