Funding round

MPOWER Financing Growth
Reported as "Growth Equity"
MPOWER Financing, which works in international student loan services in Washington, raised $100M in a Growth round announced on 13 Jul 2021. 5 firms took part. It is MPOWER Financing's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series B in Nov 2018.
$100M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
5
Investors
no lead named
Valuation
What this round says about the price
MPOWER Financing did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 32 months after MPOWER Financing's Series B. It is 46% of the $216M MPOWER Financing has raised in the venture rounds on record. No later venture round is on record for MPOWER Financing.
MPOWER Financing's funding rounds
MPOWER Financing has 3 venture rounds on record and 5 other deals. This one is highlighted.
- Series A 27 Oct 2016, led by Zephyr Management $6.0M
- Debt not a venture round 14 Aug 2017 $100M
- Series B 27 Nov 2018, led by GrayMatters Capital and Community Investment Management $110M
- Debt not a venture round 19 Aug 2019, led by Goldman Sachs $100M
- Other not a venture round 9 Jun 2020 $9.0M
- Growth this round 13 Jul 2021 $100M
- Debt not a venture round 15 May 2023 $150M
- Debt not a venture round 12 May 2025 $313M
Investors
Who put money in
5 firms took part; no lead investor was named.
Investors
- Tilden Park Capital Management new investor
- ETS Strategic Capital new investor
- backs 2 venture-backed companies new investor
- Drakes Landing Associates new investor
- Pennington Alternative Income Management new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, geographic expansion, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Geographic expansion
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
43 Growth rounds in Loans & Financing within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $80M, and this round was 1.3 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Growth rounds in Loans & Financing:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearco Loans & Financing | 8 Jul 2021 | $215M | not disclosed | SoftBank Vision Fund |
| Loans & Financing | 25 Jun 2021 | $28M | not disclosed | Blue like an Orange |
| Prodigy Finance Loans & Financing | 23 Sep 2021 | $750M | not disclosed | CPP Investments |
| Loans & Financing | 19 May 2021 | $250M | $2.00B | Greenspring Associates |
| Loans & Financing | 8 Sep 2021 | $120M | $700M | Apis Partners |
| MNT-Halan Loans & Financing | 8 Sep 2021 | $120M | not disclosed | Apis Partners |
| Loans & Financing | 20 May 2021 | $80M | not disclosed | Lakestar |
| Loans & Financing | 28 Sep 2021 | $50M | not disclosed | Lightrock |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 5 sources. The deal data marks this round as not yet confirmed by an official announcement. Unconfirmed
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did MPOWER Financing raise in its Growth round?
MPOWER Financing raised $100M in its Growth round, announced in Jul 2021.
Which investors took part in MPOWER Financing's Growth round?
Tilden Park Capital Management, ETS Strategic Capital, King Street, Drakes Landing Associates and Pennington Alternative Income Management.
What was MPOWER Financing's valuation at the Growth round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Growth rounds in Loans & Financing?
43 Growth rounds in Loans & Financing within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $80M, and this round was 1.3 times the median.