Funding round

Plaid Series B
Plaid, which works in financial data connectivity solutions in San Francisco, raised $44M in a Series B round announced on 20 Jun 2016, led by Goldman Sachs. 1 firm took part. It is Plaid's second venture round on record; the one before was a Seed in Sep 2013.
$44M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
1
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Plaid did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 33 months after Plaid's Seed. It is 3.4% of the $1.30B Plaid has raised in the venture rounds on record. Plaid raised again 30 months later: a Series C round of $250M in Dec 2018, at $2.65B post-money.
Plaid's funding rounds
Plaid has 5 venture rounds on record and 1 other deal. This one is highlighted.
- Seed 19 Sep 2013, led by Spark Capital $2.8M
- Series B this round 20 Jun 2016, led by Goldman Sachs $44M
- Series C 11 Dec 2018, led by Kleiner Perkins $250M$2.65B post-money
- Acquisition not a venture round 13 Jan 2020, led by Visa Inc. $5.30B
- Series D 7 Apr 2021, led by Altimeter, Silver Lake and Ribbit $425M$13.40B post-money
- Growth 3 Apr 2025, led by Franklin Templeton, Fidelity Management and Research and BlackRock $575M$6.10B post-money
Investors
Who put money in
Goldman Sachs led the round.
Lead investor
- Goldman Sachs backs 218 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
12 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $16M, and this round was 2.7 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 28 Jul 2016 | $15M | not disclosed | Eight Roads and SBI Holdings |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 19 May 2016 | $10M | not disclosed | Creades and SEB Venture Capital |
| Toss Business Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 29 Sep 2016 | $24M | not disclosed | Goodwater Capital and Qualcomm Ventures |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 13 Oct 2016 | $13M | not disclosed | BDC IT Venture Fund |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 14 Dec 2016 | $20M | not disclosed | AXA Strategic Ventures |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 4 Dec 2015 | $2.1M | not disclosed | not named |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 9 Jan 2017 | $17M | $47M | not named |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 22 Oct 2015 | $28M | not disclosed | Oak HC/FT |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 4 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Plaid raise in its Series B round?
Plaid raised $44M in its Series B round, announced in Jun 2016.
Who led Plaid's Series B round?
Goldman Sachs led it.
What was Plaid's valuation at the Series B round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?
12 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $16M, and this round was 2.7 times the median.
Did Plaid raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series C round in Dec 2018 of $250M at $2.65B post-money.