VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

Razorpay Series C

Razorpay, which works in digital payment solutions development in Adugodi, raised $75M in a Series C round announced on 18 Jun 2019, led by Ribbit, Sequoia Capital and Sequoia India. 6 firms took part, 4 of them already investors. It is Razorpay's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series B in Jan 2018.

$75M

Amount raised

Not disclosed

Post-money valuation

6

Investors

3 leads

Valuation

What this round says about the price

Razorpay did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 17 months after Razorpay's Series B. It is 10% of the $739M Razorpay has raised in the venture rounds on record. Razorpay raised again 16 months later: a Series D round of $100M in Oct 2020, at $1.00B post-money.

Razorpay's funding rounds

Razorpay has 6 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.

  1. Series A 27 Oct 2015, led by Tiger Global $9.0M
  2. Series B 16 Jan 2018, led by Tiger Global and Y Combinator $20M
  3. Series C this round 18 Jun 2019, led by Ribbit, Sequoia Capital and Sequoia India $75M
  4. Series D 11 Oct 2020, led by Sequoia India and GIC $100M$1.00B post-money
  5. Series E 19 Apr 2021, led by Sequoia Capital, GIC and Sequoia Capital India $160M$3.00B post-money
  6. Series F 20 Dec 2021, led by Lone Pine Capital, Alkeon and Technology Crossover Ventures $375M$7.50B post-money

Investors

Who put money in

Ribbit, Sequoia Capital and Sequoia India led the round with 3 other firms. Ribbit, Tiger Global, Y Combinator and Matrix had backed Razorpay before.

Lead investors

  • Ribbit backs 126 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Sequoia Capital backs 589 venture-backed companies new investor
  • Sequoia India new investor

Also in the round

  • Tiger Global backs 391 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Y Combinator backs 1,295 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Matrix backs 129 venture-backed companies existing investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, sales and marketing, scaling operations, acquisitions and working capital.

  • Hiring
  • Product development
  • Sales and marketing
  • Scaling operations
  • Acquisitions
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

13 Series C rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $100M, and this round was 75% of the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series C rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:

Series C rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale, Jun 2018 to Jun 2020: 13 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Airwallex Payment Processing & Point of Sale26 Mar 2019$100M$1.00BDST Global
Rapyd Payment Processing & Point of Sale1 Oct 2019$100M$1.00BOak HC/FT
Payment Processing & Point of Sale16 Jan 2019$100Mnot disclosedWarburg Pincus
Plaid Payment Processing & Point of Sale11 Dec 2018$250M$2.65BKleiner Perkins
Payment Processing & Point of Sale20 Dec 2018$125Mnot disclosednot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale13 Nov 2018$100Mnot disclosedElavon and National Australia Bank
Payment Processing & Point of Sale19 Nov 2018$27Mnot disclosedKleiner Perkins
Payment Processing & Point of Sale5 Oct 2018$125M$1.10BGreenoaks Capital and DST Global

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 3 sources.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did Razorpay raise in its Series C round?

Razorpay raised $75M in its Series C round, announced in Jun 2019.

Who led Razorpay's Series C round?

Ribbit, Sequoia Capital and Sequoia India led it, with Tiger Global, Y Combinator and Matrix.

What was Razorpay's valuation at the Series C round?

It was not disclosed.

How does it compare with other Series C rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?

13 Series C rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $100M, and this round was 75% of the median.

Did Razorpay raise again after this round?

Yes: a Series D round in Oct 2020 of $100M at $1.00B post-money.