Funding round

SiFive Series E
SiFive, which works in RISC-V processor core IP licensing in Santa Clara, raised $61M in a Series E round announced on 11 Aug 2020, led by SK hynix. 8 firms took part, 7 of them already investors. It is SiFive's fourth venture round on record; the one before was a Series D in Jun 2019.
$61M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
8
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
SiFive did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 14 months after SiFive's Series D. It is 8.0% of the $761M SiFive has raised in the venture rounds on record. SiFive raised again 19 months later: a Series F round of $175M in Mar 2022, at $2.50B post-money.
SiFive's funding rounds
SiFive has 6 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.
- Series B 8 May 2017, led by Spark Capital $8.5M
- Series C 2 Apr 2018, led by Sutter Hill Ventures, Spark Capital and Osage University Partners $51M
- Series D 6 Jun 2019 $65M
- Series E this round 11 Aug 2020, led by SK hynix $61M
- Series F 16 Mar 2022, led by Coatue $175M$2.50B post-money
- Series G 9 Apr 2026, led by Atreides Management $400M$3.65B post-money
Investors
Who put money in
SK hynix led the round with 7 other firms. SK hynix, Sutter Hill Ventures, Western Digital Capital and Qualcomm Ventures and 3 more had backed SiFive before.
Lead investor
- SK hynix existing investor
Also in the round
- backs 48 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 39 venture-backed companies existing investor
- Western Digital Capital existing investor
- Qualcomm Ventures backs 140 venture-backed companies existing investor
- Intel Capital backs 239 venture-backed companies existing investor
- Osage University Partners existing investor
- Spark Capital backs 234 venture-backed companies existing investor
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: 2 in Electronical Components Manufacturing, then Series E rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electronical Components Manufacturing | 20 Oct 2020 | undisclosed | not disclosed | not named |
| Electronical Components Manufacturing | 29 Dec 2020 | $222M | $2.77B | Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan |
| Learning, Tutoring & Courses | 26 Aug 2020 | $150M | not disclosed | KKR |
| Tech Companies | 4 Aug 2020 | $75M | $1.00B | Bessemer Venture Partners |
| Health Care Services | 22 Sep 2020 | $500M | not disclosed | Tiger Global and T. Rowe Price Associates |
| Salsify Tech Companies | 23 Sep 2020 | $155M | not disclosed | Warburg Pincus |
| Tech Companies | 16 Jul 2020 | $125M | $1.20B | BlackRock |
| Goat Group Shoes & Other Footwear Stores | 23 Sep 2020 | $100M | $1.75B | D1 Capital Partners |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 1 source. The deal data marks this round as not yet confirmed by an official announcement. Unconfirmed
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did SiFive raise in its Series E round?
SiFive raised $61M in its Series E round, announced in Aug 2020.
Who led SiFive's Series E round?
SK hynix led it, with Prosperity7 Ventures, Sutter Hill Ventures, Western Digital Capital, Qualcomm Ventures and Intel Capital and 2 more.
What was SiFive's valuation at the Series E round?
It was not disclosed.
Did SiFive raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series F round in Mar 2022 of $175M at $2.50B post-money.