VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

SumUp Series A

SumUp, which works in card payment processing services in Wilmington, raised $20M in a Series A round announced on 23 Aug 2012. 4 firms took part. It is SumUp's first venture round on record.

$20M

Amount raised

Not disclosed

Post-money valuation

4

Investors

no lead named

Valuation

What this round says about the price

SumUp did not disclose a valuation in this round. It is SumUp's first venture round on record, in the year it was founded (2012). It is 2.1% of the $951M SumUp has raised in the venture rounds on record. SumUp raised again 118 months later: a Growth round of $624M in Jun 2022, at $8.50B post-money.

SumUp's funding rounds

SumUp has 3 venture rounds on record and 3 other deals. This one is highlighted.

  1. Series A this round 23 Aug 2012 $20M
  2. Debt not a venture round 1 Mar 2021 $894M
  3. Growth 23 Jun 2022, led by Bain Capital Tech Opportunities $624M$8.50B post-money
  4. Debt not a venture round 9 Aug 2023, led by Victory Park Capital $100M
  5. Growth 22 May 2024, led by Sixth Street $307M
  6. Debt not a venture round 29 May 2024, led by Goldman Sachs Asset Management $1.63B

Investors

Who put money in

4 firms took part; no lead investor was named.

Investors

  • backs 86 venture-backed companies new investor
  • backs 2 venture-backed companies new investor
  • backs 13 venture-backed companies new investor
  • Lakestar backs 95 venture-backed companies

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to geographic expansion.

  • Geographic expansion

Comparable rounds

How it compares

7 Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $6.0M, and this round was 3.3 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:

Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale, Aug 2011 to Aug 2013: 7 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Payment Processing & Point of Sale16 Jul 2012$4.8Mnot disclosedAME Cloud Ventures
Payment Processing & Point of Sale21 Jun 2012$9.0Mnot disclosednot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale1 May 2012$14Mnot disclosednot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale14 Mar 2012$4.0Mnot disclosedAtlas Venture
Payment Processing & Point of Sale28 Feb 2013$6.0Mnot disclosedAtlas Venture and Flybridge
Payment Processing & Point of Sale1 Nov 2011$1.0Mnot disclosednot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale18 Oct 2011$11Mnot disclosedIndex Ventures

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 1 source.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did SumUp raise in its Series A round?

SumUp raised $20M in its Series A round, announced in Aug 2012.

Which investors took part in SumUp's Series A round?

b2venture, Shortcut, Tengelmann Ventures and Lakestar.

What was SumUp's valuation at the Series A round?

It was not disclosed.

How does it compare with other Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?

7 Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $6.0M, and this round was 3.3 times the median.

Did SumUp raise again after this round?

Yes: a Growth round in Jun 2022 of $624M at $8.50B post-money.