Funding round

Thrasio Series B
Thrasio, which works in ecommerce business acquisition and operation in Boston, raised $75M in a Series B round announced on 31 Mar 2020, at a $700M post-money valuation. 4 firms took part, 1 of them already investors. It is Thrasio's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series A in Dec 2019.
$75M
Amount raised
$700M
Post-money valuation
$700M pre-money
4
Investors
no lead named
11%
Stake sold
new money over the post-money
Valuation
What this round says about the price
This round priced Thrasio at $700M after the new money. The $75M bought investors about 11% of the company. It came 3 months after Thrasio's Series A. It is 5.5% of the $1.36B Thrasio has raised in the venture rounds on record. Thrasio raised again 4 months later: a Series C round of $260M in Jul 2020, at $1.00B post-money.
Thrasio's funding rounds
Thrasio has 5 venture rounds on record and 2 other deals. This one is highlighted.
- Seed 1 Apr 2019 $6.5M
- Series A 3 Dec 2019, led by PEAK6 and Upper90 $20M
- Series B this round 31 Mar 2020 $75M$700M post-money
- Series C 15 Jul 2020, led by Advent International $260M$1.00B post-money
- Debt not a venture round 11 Jan 2021, led by JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., The Private Credit Group of Goldman Sachs Asset Management, L.P. and RBC Capital Markets $500M$3.00B post-money
- Debt not a venture round 21 Sep 2021 $650M
- Series D 25 Oct 2021, led by Silver Lake and Advent International $1.00B
Investors
Who put money in
4 firms took part; no lead investor was named.
Investors
- existing insiders existing investor
- backs 22 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 23 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 67 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, scaling operations and acquisitions.
- Hiring
- Scaling operations
- Acquisitions
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: 1 in Online Marketplace, then Series B rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online Marketplace | 28 Nov 2019 | $26M | not disclosed | LGT Lightstone |
| Hosting & Cloud Infrastructure Providers | 1 Mar 2020 | $216M | not disclosed | Cox Communications and Juniper Networks |
| ElevateBio Pharmaceutical Products | 30 Mar 2020 | $170M | not disclosed | not named |
| Decorators & Interior Designers | 12 Mar 2020 | $125M | not disclosed | not named |
| Nature's Fynd Food Production | 24 Mar 2020 | $80M | not disclosed | Generation Investment Management and Breakthrough Energy |
| Electronical Components Manufacturing | 5 Mar 2020 | $60M | not disclosed | not named |
| Investment Consultants & Financial Advisors | 9 Mar 2020 | $50M | not disclosed | CapitalG |
| Weee! Groceries | 30 Mar 2020 | $50M | not disclosed | VMG Partners and XVC |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 1 source.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Thrasio raise in its Series B round?
Thrasio raised $75M in its Series B round, announced in Mar 2020.
Which investors took part in Thrasio's Series B round?
existing insiders, PEAK6, Upper90 and RiverPark Ventures.
What was Thrasio's valuation at the Series B round?
$700M post-money ($700M pre-money).
Did Thrasio raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series C round in Jul 2020 of $260M at $1.00B post-money.