Funding round

Bolt Series B
Bolt, which works in digital financial services in San Francisco, raised $68M in a Series B round announced on 1 Jul 2019, led by Activant and Tribe Capital. 2 firms took part. It is Bolt's first venture round on record.
$68M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
2
Investors
2 leads
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Bolt did not disclose a valuation in this round. It is Bolt's first venture round on record, 5 years after it was founded in 2014. It is 7.6% of the $893M Bolt has raised in the venture rounds on record. Bolt raised again 12 months later: a Series C round of $50M in Jul 2020. Its next priced round, a Series D in Oct 2021, valued it at $6.00B.
Bolt's funding rounds
Bolt has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.
Investors
Who put money in
Activant and Tribe Capital led the round.
Lead investors
- backs 48 venture-backed companies new investor
- Tribe Capital new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
39 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $24M, and this round was 2.8 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 15 Jul 2019 | $55M | $250M | Gauss Ventures |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 9 Jul 2019 | $35M | not disclosed | Horizons Ventures and Tencent |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 1 Jul 2019 | $34M | not disclosed | Creandum |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 3 Jul 2019 | $14M | not disclosed | Goodwater Capital and Mitsubishi UFJ Capital |
| CRED Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 26 Aug 2019 | $120M | $450M | Sequoia Capital and Ribbit |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 13 Sep 2019 | $67M | not disclosed | Lightspeed Venture Partners and Tiger Global |
| Greenlight Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 16 Sep 2019 | $54M | not disclosed | Drive Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 23 Sep 2019 | $4.8M | not disclosed | not named |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 4 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Bolt raise in its Series B round?
Bolt raised $68M in its Series B round, announced in Jul 2019.
Who led Bolt's Series B round?
Activant and Tribe Capital led it.
What was Bolt's valuation at the Series B round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?
39 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $24M, and this round was 2.8 times the median.
Did Bolt raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series C round in Jul 2020 of $50M.