VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

Bolt Series D

Bolt, which works in digital financial services in San Francisco, raised $393M in a Series D round announced on 13 Oct 2021, at a $6.00B post-money valuation. 1 firm took part. It is Bolt's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series C in Jul 2020.

$393M

Amount raised

$6.00B

Post-money valuation

$5.61B pre-money

1

Investors

no lead named

6.6%

Stake sold

new money over the post-money

Valuation

What this round says about the price

This round priced Bolt at $6.00B after the new money. The $393M bought investors about 6.6% of the company. It came 15 months after Bolt's Series C. It is 44% of the $893M Bolt has raised in the venture rounds on record. Bolt raised again 3 months later: a Series E round of $355M in Jan 2022, at $11.00B post-money.

Bolt's funding rounds

Bolt has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.

  1. Series B 1 Jul 2019, led by Activant and Tribe Capital $68M
  2. Series C 16 Jul 2020, led by WestCap $50M
  3. Series D this round 13 Oct 2021 $393M$6.00B post-money
  4. Series E 14 Jan 2022, led by BlackRock $355M$11.00B post-money
  5. Bridge 1 Sep 2026 $27M

Investors

Who put money in

1 firm took part; no lead investor was named.

Investors

  • backs 3 venture-backed companies new investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to product development, scaling operations and working capital.

  • Product development
  • Scaling operations
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

25 Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $200M, and this round was 2.0 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:

Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale, Oct 2020 to Oct 2022: 25 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Payment Processing & Point of Sale13 Sep 2021$250M$4.00BThrive Capital and General Catalyst
Payment Processing & Point of Sale17 Sep 2021$138M$1.00BD1 Capital Partners
Payment Processing & Point of Sale18 Aug 2021$200Mnot disclosednot named
Checkout.com Payment Processing & Point of Sale12 Jan 2022$1.00B$40.00Bnot named
Qonto Payment Processing & Point of Sale10 Jan 2022$550M$5.00BTiger Global and Technology Crossover Ventures
Flutterwave Payment Processing & Point of Sale16 Feb 2022$250M$3.00BB Capital
Payment Processing & Point of Sale24 Jun 2021$50Mnot disclosedMission Holdings and Mastercard
SpotOn Payment Processing & Point of Sale26 May 2021$125M$1.88BAndreessen Horowitz

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 2 sources.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did Bolt raise in its Series D round?

Bolt raised $393M in its Series D round, announced in Oct 2021.

Which investors took part in Bolt's Series D round?

Untitled Investments.

What was Bolt's valuation at the Series D round?

$6.00B post-money ($5.61B pre-money).

How does it compare with other Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?

25 Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $200M, and this round was 2.0 times the median.

Did Bolt raise again after this round?

Yes: a Series E round in Jan 2022 of $355M at $11.00B post-money.