Funding round

Branch Series A
Branch, which works in workforce payment solutions in San Francisco, raised $10M in a Series A round announced on 2 Aug 2017, led by March Capital. 4 firms took part. It is Branch's first venture round on record.
$10M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
4
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Branch did not disclose a valuation in this round. It is Branch's first venture round on record, 2 years after it was founded in 2015. It is 7.5% of the $133M Branch has raised in the venture rounds on record. Branch raised again 48 months later: a Series B round of $48M in Aug 2021.
Investors
Who put money in
March Capital led the round with 3 other firms.
Lead investor
- backs 12 venture-backed companies new investor
Also in the round
- backs 42 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 388 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 42 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
33 Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $7.0M, and this round was 1.4 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 8 Aug 2017 | $8.5M | not disclosed | BOLD Capital Partners |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 17 Aug 2017 | undisclosed | not disclosed | Green Visor Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 12 Jul 2017 | $10M | not disclosed | Connect Ventures |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 6 Jul 2017 | $2.0M | not disclosed | OIF Ventures |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 10 Jul 2017 | undisclosed | not disclosed | China Growth Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 25 Oct 2017 | $3.0M | not disclosed | Amino Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 21 Jun 2017 | $3.0M | not disclosed | Anthemis |
| Airwallex Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 1 May 2017 | $13M | not disclosed | Tencent Holdings |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 2 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Branch raise in its Series A round?
Branch raised $10M in its Series A round, announced in Aug 2017.
Who led Branch's Series A round?
March Capital led it, with Crosscut, Techstars and Matchstick Ventures.
What was Branch's valuation at the Series A round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?
33 Series A rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $7.0M, and this round was 1.4 times the median.
Did Branch raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series B round in Aug 2021 of $48M.