Funding round

Form Energy Series A
Form Energy, which works in energy storage technology development in Weirton, raised $9.0M in a Series A round announced on 1 Jun 2018. 3 firms took part. It is Form Energy's first venture round on record.
$9.0M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
3
Investors
no lead named
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Form Energy did not disclose a valuation in this round. It is Form Energy's first venture round on record, 1 year after it was founded in 2017. It is under 1% of the $1.93B Form Energy has raised in the venture rounds on record. Form Energy raised again 14 months later: a Series B round of $40M in Aug 2019. Its next priced round, a Series C in Nov 2020, valued it at $339M.
Form Energy's funding rounds
Form Energy has 7 venture rounds on record and 2 other deals. This one is highlighted.
- Series A this round 1 Jun 2018 $9.0M
- Series B 29 Aug 2019, led by Eni $40M
- Series C 30 Nov 2020, led by Coatue $76M$339M post-money
- Series D 22 Jul 2021, led by ArcelorMittal $200M
- Series E 4 Oct 2022, led by TPG $450M
- Series F 9 Oct 2024, led by T. Rowe Price $405M
- Debt not a venture round 16 Dec 2024 $50M
- Series G 12 Aug 2026, led by T. Rowe Price $750M
- Debt not a venture round 22 Sep 2026 $270M
Investors
Who put money in
3 firms took part; no lead investor was named.
Investors
- Breakthrough Energy backs 113 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 62 venture-backed companies new investor
- Macquarie backs 52 venture-backed companies new investor
Comparable rounds
How it compares
5 Series A rounds in Batteries within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $7.0M, and this round was 1.3 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series A rounds in Batteries:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batteries | 1 Jun 2018 | $4.0M | $12M | not named |
| Batteries | 6 Aug 2018 | $31M | not disclosed | Shell Ventures |
| Batteries | 21 Aug 2018 | $21M | not disclosed | not named |
| Batteries | 27 Apr 2018 | $4.0M | not disclosed | not named |
| Batteries | 12 Oct 2017 | $7.0M | not disclosed | not named |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 1 source. The deal data marks this round as not yet confirmed by an official announcement. Unconfirmed
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Form Energy raise in its Series A round?
Form Energy raised $9.0M in its Series A round, announced in Jun 2018.
Which investors took part in Form Energy's Series A round?
Breakthrough Energy, Prelude Ventures and Macquarie.
What was Form Energy's valuation at the Series A round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series A rounds in Batteries?
5 Series A rounds in Batteries within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $7.0M, and this round was 1.3 times the median.
Did Form Energy raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series B round in Aug 2019 of $40M.