VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

PPRO Growth

Reported as "Growth Equity"

PPRO, which works in payment activation and acceptance services in London, raised $180M in a Growth round announced on 19 Jan 2021, at a $1.00B post-money valuation. 3 firms took part. It is PPRO's third venture round on record; the one before was a Growth in Aug 2020.

$180M

Amount raised

$1.00B

Post-money valuation

$820M pre-money

3

Investors

no lead named

18%

Stake sold

new money over the post-money

Valuation

What this round says about the price

This round priced PPRO at $1.00B after the new money. The $180M bought investors about 18% of the company. It came 5 months after PPRO's Growth. It is 28% of the $643M PPRO has raised in the venture rounds on record. PPRO raised again 2 months later: a Bridge round of $270M in Mar 2021.

PPRO's funding rounds

PPRO has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.

  1. Growth 16 Jul 2018, led by PayPal $50M
  2. Growth 5 Aug 2020, led by Sprints $50M
  3. Growth this round 19 Jan 2021 $180M$1.00B post-money
  4. Bridge 25 Mar 2021 $270M
  5. Growth 13 Mar 2024 $93M

Investors

Who put money in

3 firms took part; no lead investor was named.

Investors

  • Eurazeo backs 103 venture-backed companies new investor
  • backs 13 venture-backed companies new investor
  • Wellington Management new investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.

  • Product development
  • Geographic expansion
  • Sales and marketing
  • Scaling operations
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

26 Growth rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $100M, and this round was 1.8 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Growth rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:

Growth rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale, Jan 2020 to Jan 2022: 26 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Payment Processing & Point of Sale8 Jan 2021$175M$1.00Bnot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale21 Jan 2021$69Mnot disclosednot named
Payment Processing & Point of Sale12 Nov 2020$37Mnot disclosedMiddleGame Ventures and Ventura Capital
Payment Processing & Point of Sale1 Apr 2021$100Mnot disclosedCannae Holdings
Payment Processing & Point of Sale27 Oct 2020$25Mnot disclosedMacquarie
Payment Processing & Point of Sale25 May 2021$60Mnot disclosedInitialized
Payment Processing & Point of Sale29 Sep 2020$35Mnot disclosedInsight Partners
EBANX Payment Processing & Point of Sale15 Jun 2021$430Mnot disclosedAdvent International

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 4 sources.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did PPRO raise in its Growth round?

PPRO raised $180M in its Growth round, announced in Jan 2021.

Which investors took part in PPRO's Growth round?

Eurazeo, Sprints and Wellington Management.

What was PPRO's valuation at the Growth round?

$1.00B post-money ($820M pre-money).

How does it compare with other Growth rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?

26 Growth rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $100M, and this round was 1.8 times the median.

Did PPRO raise again after this round?

Yes: a Bridge round in Mar 2021 of $270M.