Funding round

Purplle Series C
Purplle, which works in beauty and cosmetic product retail in Mumbai, raised $30M in a Series C round announced on 13 Dec 2019, led by Goldman Sachs. 4 firms took part. It is Purplle's fourth venture round on record; the one before was a Series B in Jul 2016.
$30M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
4
Investors
1 lead
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Purplle did not disclose a valuation in this round. It came 41 months after Purplle's Series B. It is 6.7% of the $450M Purplle has raised in the venture rounds on record. Purplle raised again 22 months later: a Series D round of $75M in Oct 2021, at $630M post-money.
Purplle's funding rounds
Purplle has 8 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.
- Seed 1 Aug 2013 $604K
- Series A 7 Jan 2015 $5.0M
- Series B 11 Jul 2016, led by JSW Ventures $6.0M
- Series C this round 13 Dec 2019, led by Goldman Sachs $30M
- Series D 29 Oct 2021, led by Kedaara $75M$630M post-money
- Series E 10 Jun 2022, led by Paramark Ventures $33M$1.10B post-money
- Growth 1 Jul 2024, led by Abu Dhabi Investment Authority $120M$1.25B post-money
- Series F 14 Oct 2024, led by Abu Dhabi Investment Authority $180M$1.20B post-money
Investors
Who put money in
Goldman Sachs led the round with 3 other firms.
Lead investor
- Goldman Sachs backs 218 venture-backed companies new investor
Also in the round
- backs 42 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 117 venture-backed companies new investor
- backs 9 venture-backed companies new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
The closest in time: 1 in Cosmetics Stores, then Series C rounds in any sector within 6 months:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetics Stores | 4 Dec 2020 | $19M | not disclosed | not named |
| CMR Surgical Medical Supply Manufacturers | 2 Dec 2019 | $252M | not disclosed | not named |
| Ripple Cryptocurrency | 20 Dec 2019 | $200M | $10.00B | Tetragon |
| WeLab Banks & ATMs | 12 Dec 2019 | $156M | not disclosed | Alibaba Entrepreneurs Fund and China Construction Bank International |
| Perfect Day Dairy Products - Farms & Stores | 11 Dec 2019 | $140M | not disclosed | Temasek |
| Kredivo Group Loans & Financing | 2 Dec 2019 | $90M | not disclosed | Asia Growth Capital Management and Square Peg |
| Imperative Care Medical Supply Manufacturers | 10 Dec 2019 | $85M | not disclosed | Ally Bridge Group and Bain Capital Life Sciences |
| Pharmaceutical Products | 2 Dec 2019 | $71M | not disclosed | 泰格医药 and TF Capital |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 5 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Purplle raise in its Series C round?
Purplle raised $30M in its Series C round, announced in Dec 2019.
Who led Purplle's Series C round?
Goldman Sachs led it, with IvyCap Ventures, Blume Ventures and JSW Ventures.
What was Purplle's valuation at the Series C round?
It was not disclosed.
Did Purplle raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series D round in Oct 2021 of $75M at $630M post-money.