VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

Redwood Materials Series D

Redwood Materials, which works in critical materials manufacturing in Carson City, raised $1.00B in a Series D round announced on 29 Aug 2023, led by Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Capricorn's Technology Impact Fund and T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc., at a $5.25B post-money valuation. 7 firms took part. It is Redwood Materials' third venture round on record; the one before was a Series C in Jul 2021.

Redwood Materials Batteries Carson City Unconfirmed

$1.00B

Amount raised

$5.25B

Post-money valuation

$4.25B pre-money

7

Investors

3 leads

1.4x

Step-up from the Series C

$3.70B in Jul 2021

19%

Stake sold

new money over the post-money

Valuation

What this round says about the price

This round priced Redwood Materials at $5.25B after the new money, 1.4 times the $3.70B of its Series C (Jul 2021). The $1.00B bought investors about 19% of the company. It came 25 months after Redwood Materials' Series C. It is 47% of the $2.13B Redwood Materials has raised in the venture rounds on record. Redwood Materials raised again 29 months later: a Series E round of $425M in Jan 2026, at $6.00B post-money.

Redwood Materials' funding rounds

Redwood Materials has 4 venture rounds on record and 2 other deals. This one is highlighted.

  1. Seed 27 Apr 2017 $2.0M$4.1M post-money
  2. Series C 28 Jul 2021, led by T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. $700M$3.70B post-money
  3. Debt not a venture round 3 Jan 2023 $200M
  4. Debt not a venture round 9 Feb 2023, led by U.S. Department of Energy $2.00B
  5. Series D this round 29 Aug 2023, led by Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Capricorn's Technology Impact Fund and T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. $1.00B$5.25B post-money
  6. Series E 28 Jan 2026, led by GV and Eclipse $425M$6.00B post-money

Investors

Who put money in

Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Capricorn's Technology Impact Fund and T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. led the round with 4 other firms.

Lead investors

  • Goldman Sachs Asset Management new investor
  • Capricorn's Technology Impact Fund new investor
  • T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. new investor

Also in the round

  • OMERS new investor
  • Caterpillar Venture Capital new investor
  • Microsoft’s Climate Innovation Fund new investor
  • Deepwater Asset Management new investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, scaling operations and working capital.

  • Hiring
  • Product development
  • Geographic expansion
  • Scaling operations
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

The closest in time: 2 in Batteries, then Series D rounds in any sector within 6 months:

Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Ascend Elements Batteries6 Sep 2023$460Mnot disclosedDecarbonization Partners and Temasek
Batteries1 Nov 2022$54Mnot disclosedHelios Climate Ventures
Ramp Tech Companies21 Aug 2023$300M$5.80Bnot named
Neuralink Medical Supply Manufacturers7 Aug 2023$280Mnot disclosedFounders Fund
Tech Companies24 Aug 2023$235M$4.50BSalesforce Ventures
Tech Companies23 Aug 2023$110Mnot disclosedRiverwood Capital
Electronical Components Manufacturing17 Aug 2023$102Mnot disclosedGates Frontier and Tracker Capital
Tech Companies29 Aug 2023$100M$1.60BBain Capital Ventures

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 4 sources. The deal data marks this round as not yet confirmed by an official announcement. Unconfirmed

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did Redwood Materials raise in its Series D round?

Redwood Materials raised $1.00B in its Series D round, announced in Aug 2023.

Who led Redwood Materials' Series D round?

Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Capricorn's Technology Impact Fund and T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. led it, with OMERS, Caterpillar Venture Capital, Microsoft’s Climate Innovation Fund and Deepwater Asset Management.

What was Redwood Materials' valuation at the Series D round?

$5.25B post-money ($4.25B pre-money).

Did Redwood Materials raise again after this round?

Yes: a Series E round in Jan 2026 of $425M at $6.00B post-money.