Funding round

Rapyd Series B
Rapyd, which works in fintech payment infrastructure services in Tel Aviv, raised $40M in a Series B round announced on 13 Feb 2019, led by General Catalyst and Stripes. 5 firms took part. It is Rapyd's first venture round on record.
$40M
Amount raised
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation
5
Investors
2 leads
Valuation
What this round says about the price
Rapyd did not disclose a valuation in this round. It is Rapyd's first venture round on record, 3 years after it was founded in 2016. It is 3.2% of the $1.24B Rapyd has raised in the venture rounds on record. Rapyd raised again 8 months later: a Series C round of $100M in Oct 2019, at $1.00B post-money.
Rapyd's funding rounds
Rapyd has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.
Investors
Who put money in
General Catalyst and Stripes led the round with 3 other firms.
Lead investors
- General Catalyst backs 574 venture-backed companies new investor
- Stripes backs 101 venture-backed companies new investor
Also in the round
- Target Global new investor
- backs 24 venture-backed companies new investor
- TaL Capital new investor
Use of proceeds
What the money is for
According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations and working capital.
- Hiring
- Product development
- Geographic expansion
- Sales and marketing
- Scaling operations
- Working capital
Comparable rounds
How it compares
35 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $22M, and this round was 1.8 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:
| Company | Announced | Amount | Post-money | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 13 Feb 2019 | $10M | not disclosed | Cota Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 22 Jan 2019 | $40M | $300M | Goodwater Capital and Western Technology Investment |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 9 Apr 2019 | $45M | not disclosed | EV Growth and Rakuten Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 3 Apr 2019 | $12M | not disclosed | Mosaik Partners and North Atlantic Capital |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 16 Apr 2019 | $5.0M | not disclosed | not named |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 1 Nov 2018 | $20M | not disclosed | not named |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 15 Nov 2018 | $17M | not disclosed | Serena |
| Payment Processing & Point of Sale | 10 Oct 2018 | $20M | not disclosed | Generation Partners |
Sources
Where this comes from
Reported by 2 sources.
Questions
Frequently asked
How much did Rapyd raise in its Series B round?
Rapyd raised $40M in its Series B round, announced in Feb 2019.
Who led Rapyd's Series B round?
General Catalyst and Stripes led it, with Target Global, IGNIA and TaL Capital.
What was Rapyd's valuation at the Series B round?
It was not disclosed.
How does it compare with other Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?
35 Series B rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $22M, and this round was 1.8 times the median.
Did Rapyd raise again after this round?
Yes: a Series C round in Oct 2019 of $100M at $1.00B post-money.