VCMCVC Market Cap
Menu

Funding round

Rapyd Series D

Rapyd, which works in fintech payment infrastructure services in Tel Aviv, raised $300M in a Series D round announced on 13 Jan 2021, led by Coatue, at a $2.50B post-money valuation. 12 firms took part, 7 of them already investors. It is Rapyd's third venture round on record; the one before was a Series C in Oct 2019.

$300M

Amount raised

$2.50B

Post-money valuation

$2.20B pre-money

12

Investors

1 lead

2.5x

Step-up from the Series C

$1.00B in Oct 2019

12%

Stake sold

new money over the post-money

Valuation

What this round says about the price

This round priced Rapyd at $2.50B after the new money, 2.5 times the $1.00B of its Series C (Oct 2019). The $300M bought investors about 12% of the company. It came 15 months after Rapyd's Series C. It is 24% of the $1.24B Rapyd has raised in the venture rounds on record. Rapyd raised again 7 months later: a Series E round of $300M in Aug 2021, at $8.75B post-money.

Rapyd's funding rounds

Rapyd has 5 venture rounds on record. This one is highlighted.

  1. Series B 13 Feb 2019, led by General Catalyst and Stripes $40M
  2. Series C 1 Oct 2019, led by Oak HC/FT $100M$1.00B post-money
  3. Series D this round 13 Jan 2021, led by Coatue $300M$2.50B post-money
  4. Series E 3 Aug 2021, led by Target Global $300M$8.75B post-money
  5. Growth 17 Feb 2025 $500M$4.50B post-money

Investors

Who put money in

Coatue led the round with 11 other firms. General Catalyst, Oak HC/FT, Tiger Global and Target Global and 3 more had backed Rapyd before.

Lead investor

  • Coatue backs 229 venture-backed companies new investor

Also in the round

  • Spark Capital backs 234 venture-backed companies new investor
  • backs 18 venture-backed companies new investor
  • FJ Labs backs 316 venture-backed companies new investor
  • Phoenix Court backs 45 venture-backed companies new investor
  • General Catalyst backs 574 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Oak HC/FT backs 106 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Tiger Global backs 391 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Target Global existing investor
  • Durable Capital Partners backs 39 venture-backed companies existing investor
  • Tal Capital existing investor
  • backs 80 venture-backed companies existing investor

Use of proceeds

What the money is for

According to the announcement, the money goes to hiring, product development, geographic expansion, sales and marketing, scaling operations, acquisitions and working capital.

  • Hiring
  • Product development
  • Geographic expansion
  • Sales and marketing
  • Scaling operations
  • Acquisitions
  • Working capital

Comparable rounds

How it compares

20 Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $132M, and this round was 2.3 times the median. The closest in time, other companies' Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale:

Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale, Jan 2020 to Jan 2022: 20 rounds with an amount, log scale.
Comparable rounds
CompanyAnnouncedAmountPost-moneyLed by
Payment Processing & Point of Sale15 Jan 2021$100Mnot disclosedWarburg Pincus and Goodwater Capital
BharatPe Payment Processing & Point of Sale12 Feb 2021$108M$900MCoatue
Payment Processing & Point of Sale31 Mar 2021$120Mnot disclosedJS Capital Management LLC and Soros Capital Management LLC
Airwallex Payment Processing & Point of Sale23 Mar 2021$100M$2.60BGreenoaks
Payment Processing & Point of Sale1 Apr 2021$425M$7.40BTiger Global
Plaid Payment Processing & Point of Sale7 Apr 2021$425M$13.40BAltimeter and Silver Lake
Greenlight Payment Processing & Point of Sale27 Apr 2021$260M$2.30BAndreessen Horowitz
CRED Payment Processing & Point of Sale6 Apr 2021$215M$2.20BAlpha Wave Global and Coatue

Sources

Where this comes from

Reported by 6 sources.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much did Rapyd raise in its Series D round?

Rapyd raised $300M in its Series D round, announced in Jan 2021.

Who led Rapyd's Series D round?

Coatue led it, with Spark Capital, Avid Ventures, FJ Labs, Phoenix Court and General Catalyst and 6 more.

What was Rapyd's valuation at the Series D round?

$2.50B post-money ($2.20B pre-money).

How does it compare with other Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale?

20 Series D rounds in Payment Processing & Point of Sale within a year either side disclosed an amount; the median was $132M, and this round was 2.3 times the median.

Did Rapyd raise again after this round?

Yes: a Series E round in Aug 2021 of $300M at $8.75B post-money.